اليد والمعصم

الحالات

إلتهاب مفصل اليد والمعصم

إلتهاب المفصل حالة التهابية تصيب المفصل، وهو متعدد الأنواع؛ والنوع الأكثر شيوعاً هو الفصال العظمي أو التهاب بلى المفاصل. ويصيب التهاب المفاصل مفاصل متنوعة في الجسم ويؤثر التهاب مفصل اليد في المفصل الواقع عند أسفل الإبهام. كذلك، قد يصيب مفاصل أصابع أخرى، وتتضمن الأعراض التورم والألم والتيبّس والتشوّه التي من شأنها أن تعيق استخدام اليد.

إلتهاب الإبهام

إلتهاب المفصل حالة التهابية تصيب المفصل، وهو متعدد الأنواع؛ والنوع الأكثر شيوعاً هو الفصال العظمي أو التهاب بلى المفاصل الذي يصيب المفصل عند أسفل الإبهام. والتهاب مفصل الإبهام أكثر شيوعاً لدى النساء منه لدى الرجال، ويظهر عادةً بعد سن الأربعين. وقد يعاني المصابون بالتهاب مفاصل الأصابع من تورمٍ وألمٍ وتيبّسٍ وتشوّهٍ، من شأنها كلها أن تعيق استخدام اليد.

تشوّه العُروة

تَصل الأوتار في الأصابع عظام الإصبع بعضلاتها وتساعد على ثني الإصبع وتقويمها عند المفصل، حيث تتقلص العضلات. وتشوّه العروة حالةٌ تؤدي فيها إصابة الوتر في المفصل الأوسط للإصبع إلى عجزٍ عن تقويم الإصبع المُصابة.

متلازمة النفق الرسغيّ

متلازمة النفق الرسغيّ حالة شائعة ومؤلمة ومترقّية يتسبب بها انضغاط العصب المتوسط في منطقة الرسغ. وتتضمن أعراض متلازمة النفق الرسغيّ الشائعة خدراً ووخزاً في كل الأصابع، باستثناء الخنصر؛ وألماً وشعوراً بالحرق في اليد والرسغ يمكن أن يمتد ليبلغ الذراع والمرفق؛ وضعفاً في اليد مع تراجع قوّة القبضة.

وُتار دي كرفان

إلتهاب غَمد وتر "دي كرفان" من أمراض اليد التي تؤثّر في قدرة المريض على تحريك إبهامه. وكان يوصف بوثي الغاسِلة أو رسغ الأم، لكن مع ظهور التكنولوجيا، بات يُعرف عامةً بـ"إبهام بلاكبيري"، بسبب الطباعة على أجهزة صغيرة محمولة يدوياً وإرسال رسائل منها.

تَفَقُّع دوبويتران

تفقّع دوبويتران هو تثخّن الطبقة النسيجية الليفية تحت جِلد الراحتين والأصابع واليدين، الذي يؤدي إلى تقوّس الاصبع. ويعود سببه إلى فرط إنتاج الكولاجين الذي يترسّب تحت الجِلد. ويمكن أن تزيد العوامل الوراثية والإسراف في استهلاك الكحول والسكّري والنوبات والتقدّم في السن، من خطر الإصابة بهذه الحالة. وهو يظهر عادةً في البنصر والخنصر. ومن وقتٍ لآخر، يصيب الإصبع الوسطى لكن قلما يصيب الابهام والسبابة. وتفقّع دوبويتران حالة تتطور عادةً ببطء على مدى سنوات كثيرة وليست مؤلمة. إلا أن بعض الحالات تتطور بسرعة ويمكن أن تتسبب بألمٍ للمريض.

إصابات الوتر المثني

الأوتار أشرطةٌ من النسيج الضام الليفيّ تربط العضلات بالعظم، وتساعد في حركة الأصابع واليد وكل أعضاء الجسم الأخرى. في اليد نوعان من الأوتار، الأوتار الباسطة والأوتار المثنية. تساعد الأوتار الباسطة الواقعة في أعلى اليد على تقويم الأصابع فيما تساعد الأوتار المثنية التي تقع في راحة اليد على ثني الأصابع.

كسر الإصبع

الأصابع بُنىً رقيقة في الجسم البشري تساعد في ممارسة الأنشطة الروتينية اليومية من خلال حركات متناسقة. ويمكن أن يكون لأي خللٍ يصيب الأصابع تأثير هائل على نوعية حياة المريض. عادةً، يُعتبَر كسر الإصبع إصابة بسيطة، لكن إذا تُرك من دون علاج، يمكن أن يؤدي إلى عواقب وخيمة بسبب إعاقة الوظائف المتخصصة كالإمساك بأمور في الراحة أو التلاعب بها. ويمكن أن يُخلّ كسر الإصبع بتراصف كل اليد ويتسبب بألمٍ وتيبّس.

وثي الإصبع والإبهام

توصف الإصابات التي تتميز بتمزّق أربطة الأصابع أو تمددها بالوثي. وغالباً ما ينجم الوثي في الأصابع عن سقوطٍ يمدّ فيه المرء ذراعيه لتخفيف أثر الصدمة، أو عن فرط استخدام الإبهام أو تكرر حركته كما هي الحال في إرسال الرسائل النصية.

عقدة (كيسة) المعصم

الكيسات العُقدية كُتلٌ مليئة بالسائل تنمو بشكلٍ عام على طول أوتار أو مفاصل الرسغين أو اليدين. وهي أشبه ببالون مائي ذات ساق وتحتوي على سائل شفّاف أو مادة هُلامية. والكيسات العقدية غير سرطانية وعديمة الأذى بشكلٍ عام وتختفي من دون أي علاج. لكن إذا أصبحت الكيسة مؤلمة أو أعاقت حركة اليد، يمكن معالجتها بطريقة غير جراحية أو إزالتها جراحياً.

الإصبع المطرقية

الإصبع المطرقية حالة يلتوي فيها طرف الإصبع ولا يستقيم. وتحصل حين يتعرض الوتر الباسط في الجهة الخلفية من الإصبع للضرر. ومفصل الإصبع مفصل رَزيّ يسمح بثني الأصابع وتقويمها. ويتألف كل إصبع من ثلاث عظام سُلاميات، يربطها مفصلا بين السُلاميات. ويدعى المفصل القريب من أسفل الإصبع مفصل بين السُلاميات الداني فيما يدعى المفصل القريب من رأس الإصبع مفصل بين السُلاميات القاصي.

كسر العظم الزورقيّ

العظم الزورقيّ عظم صغير يتخذ شكل زورق في الرسغ، ويشكّل مع سبع عظام أخرى مفصل الرسغ. ويقع من جهة الإبهام في الرسغ مما يجعله أكثر عرضةً للكسور. عادةً، يُشاهَد كسر العظم الزورقيّ لدى الشبّان الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 20 و30 سنة. ويمكن أن يقع في مكانين: بالقرب من الإبهام أو بالقرب من الساعد.

كسر الإبهام

يُعرَف الانقطاع أو الصدع في عظام الإبهام بكسر الإبهام. يمكن أن تنتج كسور الإبهام عن ضربةٍ مباشرة وسقوط وتقلّصات عضلية أو التواء خلال رياضات ككرة القدم والهوكي والتزلج والمصارعة. ويمكن أن تحصل الكسور في أي مكان في الإبهام، لكن الكسر الواقع عند أسفل الإبهام، بالقرب من الرسغ يُعتبَر الأخطر. ويترافق كسر الإبهام مع ألمٍ حاد وإيلام وتورم في موقع الكسر وحركة إبهام لا تُذكَر أو معدومة وتشوّه أو برودة أو خَدَر في الإبهام.

الإصبع الزِنادية

الإصبع الزنادية المعروفة أيضاً بالتهاب الزليل والوتر المُضيِّق أو التهاب الوتر المثنيّ حالةٌ يعلق فيها أحد أصابع اليد أو الإبهام في وضعٍ منحنٍ. وقد تستقيم الإصبع المُصابة بصَكَّةٍ سريعة، شبيهة بالضغط على زناد مسدّس وإطلاقه؛ من هنا أتت عبارة الإصبع الزنادية.

وثي الرسغ

تدعى الإصابات التي يتسبب بها تمدد الأربطة في الرسغ أو تمزّقها وثي الرسغ. ويعود سبب هذه الإصابات عادةً إلى سقوط خلال ممارسة النشاطات اليومية أو الرياضية. ويمكن أن يتراوح الوثي بين الخفيف والبليغ، تبعاً لدرجة إصابة الرباط. وتتضمن بعض أعراض وثي الرسغ الرئيسة:

العلاجات

جراحة تحرير النفق الرسغيّ

النفق الرسغيّ ممرٌ ضيّق يقع من ناحية الراحة في الرسغ. وتشكّل عظام الرسغ الصغيرة المعروفة بعظام الرسغ الجانب السفلي من النفق الرسغيّ وجانبيه، فيما يغطّي شريط قوي من النسيج الضام يُعرَف بالرباط الرسغيّ المُستعرض، الجهة العليا من النفق الرسغيّ.

تحرير دي كيرفان

إلتهاب غَمد وتر "دي كرفان" من أمراض اليد التي تؤثّر في قدرة المريض على تحريك إبهامه. وكان يوصف بوثي الغاسِلة أو رسغ الأم، لكن مع ظهور التكنولوجيا، بات يُعرف عامةً بـ"إبهام بلاكبيري"، بسبب الطباعة على أجهزة صغيرة محمولة يدوياً وإرسال رسائل منها. أطلق على التهاب غمد وتر "دي كرفان" هذا الاسم تيمنّاً بالجرّاح السويسري الذي كان أول من حدّد الحالة، الدكتور فريتز دي كرفان. ويجد المرضى المُصابون بهذه الحالة صعوبةً في الإمساك بأمورٍ وممارسة نشاطاتهم اليومية.

استئصال كيسة المعصم العُقدية

الكيسات العُقدية كُتلٌ مليئة بالسائل تنمو بشكلٍ عام على طول أوتار أو مفاصل الرسغين أو اليدين. وهي أشبه ببالون مائي ذات ساق وتحتوي على سائل شفّاف أو مادة هُلامية. والكيسات العقدية غير سرطانية وعديمة الأذى بشكلٍ عام وتختفي من دون أي علاج. لكن إذا أصبحت الكيسة مؤلمة أو أعاقت حركة اليد، يمكن معالجتها بطريقة غير جراحية أو إزالتها جراحياً.

جراحة اليد

تُعتبَر اليد إحدى البُنى الأكثر تعقيداً في الجسم البشري بسبب تركيبها المتشابك. فاليدان نظام معقّد يضم مجموعة متنوعة من العظم والمفاصل والأربطة والأوتار والعضلات والأعصاب والأوعية الدموية. من دون عمل اليد السليم، نعجز عن ممارسة نشاطات الحياة اليومية. واليد عضو في الجسم معرّض تعرّضاً كبيراً للإصابات أو الأمراض. وتتضمن بعض هذه الحالات:

تحرير الإصبع الزنادية

الإصبع الزنادية المعروفة أيضاً بالتهاب الزليل والوتر المُضيِّق أو التهاب الوتر المثنيّ حالةٌ يعلق فيها أحد أصابع اليد أو الإبهام في وضعٍ منحنٍ. وقد تستقيم الإصبع المُصابة بصَكَّةٍ سريعة، شبيهة بالضغط على زناد مسدّس وإطلاقه؛ من هنا أتت عبارة الإصبع الزنادية.

Hand & Wrist

Conditions

Arthritis of the Hand & Wrist

Arthritis is an inflammatory condition of joints. There are several types of arthritis and the most common type is osteoarthritis or wear-and-tear arthritis. Arthritis affects various joints in the body and the arthritis in hand affects the joint at the base of the thumb. Arthritis may also affect the joints of other digits and the symptoms include swelling, pain, stiffness, and malformation all of which interfere with use of the hand.

Arthritis of the Thumb

Arthritis is an inflammatory condition of joints. There are several types of arthritis; the most common type is osteoarthritis or wear-and-tear arthritis that affects the joint at the base of the thumb. Thumb arthritis is more common in women than men, and usually occurs after the age of 40 years. Patients who have arthritis of the fingers may have swelling, pain, stiffness, and malformation all of which interfere with use of the hand.

Boutonniere Deformity

Tendons in your fingers connect the finger bones to finger muscles and help bend and straighten the finger at the joint when the muscles contract. Boutonnière deformity is a condition in which a tendon injury to the middle joint of the finger results in the inability to straighten the affected finger.

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome is a common, painful, progressive condition that is caused by compression of the median nerve at the wrist area. Common symptoms of carpal tunnel syndrome include numbness and tingling sensation in all the fingers except little finger; pain and burning sensation in hand and wrist that may radiate up the arm and elbow; and weakness in hand with diminished grip strength Exact causes of the condition are not known. However certain factors increase the risk of developing carpal tunnel syndrome and they include congenital abnormalities, repetitive motion of hand and wrists, fractures and sprains, hormonal imbalance, and other medical conditions such as hypothyroidism, rheumatoid arthritis, diabetes, obesity, gout, overactive pituitary gland, or the presence of a cyst or tumor in the canal.

De Quervain’s Tendonosis

De Quervain’s Tenosynovitis is a hand condition affecting a patients’ ability to move their thumb. It used to be referred to as washerwoman’s sprain or mother’s wrist but with the advent of technology, is now commonly referred to as “Blackberry thumb” from typing and texting on small handheld devices.

Dupuytren’s Contracture

Dupuytren’s contracture is thickening of the fibrous tissue layer under the skin of palms, fingers, and hands which leads to curving of the finger. It is caused due to the excessive production of collagen which gets deposited under the skin. Hereditary factors, excessive alcohol consumption, diabetes, seizures, and increased age may increase the risk of developing the condition. It commonly occurs in the ring finger and little finger. Occasionally the middle finger is affected but the thumb and index finger are rarely affected. Dupuytren’s contracture is a condition that usually progresses slowly over many years and is not painful. However, some cases progress rapidly and may be painful to the patient.

Flexor Tendon Injuries

Tendons are the bands of fibrous connective tissue that connect muscles to bone. Tendons aid in movement of the fingers, hand and all other body parts. There are two types of tendons present in the hand- extensor tendons and flexor tendons. Extensor tendons present on top of the hand help with straightening the fingers. Whereas, flexor tendons that lie on the palm side of the hand help in bending the fingers. The flexor tendons are smooth, flexible, thick tissue strands which bend the fingers.

Fracture of the Finger

Fingers are fine structures of the human body which assist in daily routine activities through coordinated movements. Any abnormality affecting the fingers can have a huge impact on quality of life of the patient. A finger fracture is usually a minor injury but if left untreated it may lead to major consequences due to interference with the specialized functions such as grasping or manipulating objects in the palm. A fracture of the finger may disrupt the alignment of whole hand and cause pain and stiffness.

Finger & Thumb sprain

Injuries that involve tearing or stretching of the ligaments of your fingers are termed as sprains. Sprains in the fingers are most often caused from a fall when you extend your arms to reduce the impact of the fall, or from overuse or repetitive activity of the thumb such as with texting.

Ganglion (Cyst) of the Wrist

Ganglion cysts are fluid-filled lumps that most commonly develop along the tendons or joints of wrists or hands. It looks like a water balloon on a stalk and contains a clear fluid or gelatinous material. Ganglion cysts are noncancerous, generally harmless and disappear without any treatment. However, if the cyst becomes painful or interferes with hand movement, they can be treated non-surgically or removed surgically.

Mallet Finger

Mallet finger is a condition where the end of the finger is bent and does not straighten. It occurs when the extensor tendon on the back of the finger is damaged. The finger joint is a hinge-joint that allows bending and straightening of the fingers. Each finger is composed of 3 phalanges bones, joined by 2 interphalangeal joints (IP joints). The joint near the base of the finger is called the proximal IP joint or PIP joint, and the joint near the tip of the finger is called the distal IP joint or DIP joint.

Scaphoid Fracture

The scaphoid bone is a small, boat-shaped bone in the wrist, which, along with 7 other bones, forms the wrist joint.   It is present on the thumb side of the wrist causing it to be at a high risk for fractures. A scaphoid fracture is usually seen in young men aged 20 to 30 years. They can occur at two places: near the thumb or near the forearm.

Thumb fracture

A break or a crack in the bones of the thumb is known as a thumb fracture. Thumb fractures can occur from a direct blow, a fall, and muscle contractions or twisting during sports such as football, hockey, skiing and wrestling. Fractures may occur anywhere on the thumb, but a fracture at the base of the thumb, near the wrist, is considered the most serious. A fractured thumb is associated with severe pain, tenderness and swelling at the fracture site, little or no thumb movement, deformed appearance or coldness or numbness in the thumb.

Trigger Finger

Trigger Finger, also known as stenosing tenosynovitis or flexor tendonitis, is a condition where one of the fingers or thumb of the hand is caught in a bent position. The affected digit may straighten with a quick snap, similar to pulling and releasing the trigger on a gun, hence the name trigger finger.

Wrist Sprains

Injuries caused due to stretching or tearing of the ligaments in the wrist are called wrist sprains. These injuries are usually caused by a fall during daily activities or sports activities. Sprains can range from mild to severe based on the extent of injury to the ligament. Some of the main symptoms of wrist sprains include:

Treatments

Carpal Tunnel Release Surgery

The carpal tunnel is a narrow passageway on the palm side of your wrist. Small wrist bones known as carpals form the bottom and sides of your carpal tunnel and a strong band of connecting tissue, known as the transverse carpal ligament, covers the top of the carpal tunnel.

De Quervain’s Release

De Quervain’s Tenosynovitis is a hand condition affecting a patients’ ability to move their thumb. It used to be referred to as washerwoman’s sprain or mother’s wrist but with the advent of technology, is now commonly referred to as “Blackberry thumb” from typing and texting on small handheld devices.

Ganglion cyst of the Wrist Excision

Ganglion cysts are fluid-filled lumps that most commonly develop along the tendons or joints of wrists or hands. It looks like a water balloon on a stalk and contains a clear fluid or gelatinous material. Ganglion cysts are noncancerous, generally harmless and disappear without any treatment. However, if the cyst becomes painful or interferes with hand movement, they can be treated non-surgically or removed surgically.

Hand Surgery

The hand is considered one of the most complex structures in the human body due to its intricate anatomy. Your hands are a complex system of various bones, joints, ligaments, tendons, muscles, nerves and blood vessels. Without the healthy functioning of the hand we are unable to perform activities of daily living. The hand is one part of the body that is very susceptible to injury or disease. Some of these conditions include:

Trigger Finger Release

Trigger Finger, also known as stenosing tenosynovitis or flexor tendonitis, is a condition where one of the fingers or thumb of the hand is caught in a bent position. The affected digit may straighten with a quick snap, similar to pulling and releasing the trigger on a gun, hence the name trigger finger.