ألم الظهر

قد ينجم ألم الظهر عن إصابة في العضلات أو الأعصاب أو المفاصل أو بنىً أخرى في العمود الفقري. ويُعتبَر ألم الظهر إحدى المشاكل الأكثر شيوعاً التي تواجهها أكثرية الأشخاص، في إحدى مراحل حياتهم. ومن المفردات الشائعة لألم الظهر: الألم الفَقَري والتواء أو إجهاد الظهر وانزلاق القرص الفقري وعرق النَسا والعصب المقروص.

يمكن أن يكون ألم الظهر حاداً ويدوم عدة أيام إلى بضعة أسابيع، أو مزمناً ويدوم أكثر من ثلاثة أشهر. وقد يكون ألم الظهر متوضّعاً في الظهر أو قد ينتشر ليشمل مناطق أخرى كالذراع و/أو الرجلين. ويشير اعتلال الجذور الرقبية إلى الألم الذي يبدأ في العنق ويتشعع ليشمل الذراعين.

يمكن أن يكون ألم الظهر مستمراً وكليلاً أو حاداً ومفاجئاً. وإلى جانب الألم، قد تشعر أيضاً بالضعف والخَدَر أو النخز في ذراعيك أو رجليك وهي ناتجة عن إصابة في النخاع.

الأسباب

يُعتبَر إجهاد العضلات والأربطة أو التواؤها السبب الأكثر شيوعاً لألم الظهر. وتتضمن الأسباب الأخرى سوء الوضعة وميكانيكا الجسم والتهاب المفصل العجزيّ الحرقفيّ وداء القرص التنكّسيّ والفُصال العظميّ وداء الفُقار والأقراص المنفتقة وعرق النسا وتضيّق القناة الفقرية وانزلاق الفقار وإصابة الظهر أو رضحه والأورام النخاعية والتهاب المفاصل الفقرية.

التشخيص

يستند تشخيص ألم الظهر إلى التاريخ الطبي والفحص الجسدي والعصبي. وسيختبر طبيبك أحاسيسك ومُنعكساتك وقوة عضلاتك. وقد تُطلَب فحوصات تصويرية أخرى كالصور الشعاعية والتصوير المقطعي المحوسب أو تفريسة التصوير بالرنين المغنطيسي لتحديد سبب ألم ظهرك. وقد تُستخدم تفريسة التصوير بالرنين المغنطيسي لمعرفة ما إذا كانت أي أعصاب نخاعية تتعرض للضغط.

العلاج

في معظم الأحيان، يمكن معالجة ألم الظهر من دون جراحة. وتتضمن العلاجات التقليدية تعديل النشاطات وأدوية مضادة للالتهاب ومسكّنة ومرخّيات عضلية وحقناً موضعية وعلاجاً فيزيائياً وسنادات لدعم العمود الفقري وآلة لتخفيف الضغط عن النخاع وعلاجاً يدوياً ووخزاً إبرياً. وقد يوصيك طبيبك بالجمع بين علاجين أو أكثر، لزيادة حظوظ نجاح العلاج.

عادةً، يُدرَس خيار اللجوء إلى الجراحة لدى المرضى الذين يعانون من عدم استقرار فقريّ أو خلل وظيفيّ عصبيّ، وإذا استمر الألم من دون تجاوب مع العلاج التقليدي.

يجب مراجعة الطبيب إذا شعرت بألم ظهر مترافق مع أي من الأعراض التالية:

  • ألم ظهر مستمر
  • ألم يشعّ ليشمل الرجلين
  • ضعف وخدَر أو شعور بالنخز أو الحرارة أو البرود أو الحريق في الرجلين
  • خَدَر حول الأعضاء التناسلية و/ أو العجز
  • مشاكل في الأمعاء أو المثانة
  • ألم ظهر مستمر إثر إصابة
  • إرتفاع حرارة الجسم (حُمّى)

Back Pain

Back pain or backache may originate from an injury to the muscles, nerves, bones, joints or other structures in the spine. Back pain is one of the most common problems experienced by a majority of individuals, at some point of their lives. Some of the common terms for back pain include lumbago, back sprain or strain, slipped disc, sciatica and pinched nerve.

Back pain can be acute lasting from a few days to a few weeks, or chronic lasting for more than three months. Back pain may either be localized to the back or may radiate to other areas such as the arm and /or legs. Cervical radiculopathy refers to the pain that originates in the neck and radiates to the arms.

Back pain can either be a dull constant pain or a sudden sharp pain. Apart from pain you may also experience weakness, numbness or tingling sensation in your arms or legs caused by an injury to the spinal cord.

Causes

The most common cause of back pain is strained or sprained muscles and ligaments. Other causes include poor posture and body mechanics, sacroiliac joint inflammation, degenerative disc disease, osteoarthritis, spondylosis, herniated discs, sciatica, spinal stenosis, spondylolisthesis, injury or trauma to the back, spinal tumors and infection of the spinal joints.

Diagnosis

The diagnosis for back pain comprises of medical history, physical examination, and neurological examination. Your doctor will test your sensations, reflexes, and the strength of the muscles. Other imaging tests such as an X-ray, CT or MRI scan may be ordered to determine the cause of your back pain. An MRI scan may be used to determine if any spinal nerves are being compressed.

Treatment

Most of the time back pain can be resolved without surgery. Conservative treatment involves activity modifications, anti-inflammatory and pain medications, muscle relaxants, local injections, physical therapy, braces to support the spine, spinal decompression machine, chiropractic, and acupuncture. Your doctor may recommend combining two or more therapies, in order to maximize your chances of successful treatment.

Surgery is usually considered in patients with spine instability or neurological dysfunction and if pain is persistent and does not respond to conservative treatment.

You should seek medical attention if you have back pain accompanied by any of the following signs or symptoms:

  • Persistent back pain
  • Pain radiating to the legs
  • Weakness, numbness or tingling, hot/cold/burning feeling in the legs
  • Numbness around the genitals and /or buttocks
  • Bowel or bladder problems
  • Persistent Back pain following an injury
  • Elevated body temperature (fever)